Generals Who Won WW II in Europe, 1945 Group Photo

Generals Who Won WW II in Europe, 1945 Group Photo

Download Free from

This group photo of Generals from the European Theater of Operations was one of many taken in 1945 as part of celebration of the world-wide victory achieved by U.S. Armed Forces. It is not known why this particular group was assembled for the photo with Eisenhower, since other important generals are not included.

In this photo, seated left to right are:

  • William H. Simpson (9th Army)
  • George S. Patton, Jr. (7th Army, 3rd Army)
  • Carl Spaatz (8th Air Force, US Strategic Air Forces in Europe)
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower (SHAEF Supreme Allied Commander)
  • Omar Bradley (1st Army, 12th Army Group)
  • Courtney H. Hodges (1st Army)
  • Leonard T. Gerow (19th Army)

Standing left to right are:

  • Ralph F. Stearley (9th Tactical Air Division, 9th Air Force)
  • Hoyt S. Vandenberg (9th Air Force)
  • Walter Bedell Smith (SHAEF Chief of Staff)
  • Otto P. Weyland (XIX Tactical Air Command)
  • Richard E. Nugent (XXIX Tactical Air Command)
Today in WW II: 13 Jun 1940 Paris, France declared an open city as German Army closes in.  More 
13 Jun 1942 US Government establishes the Office of War Information [OWI] to promote favorable news about the war, best known for their series of memorable and effective posters.
13 Jun 1942 US government establishes the Office of Strategic Services [OSS] by Executive Order 9182.
Visit the World War II Timeline for day-by-day events 1939-1945! See also WW2 Books.

privacy policy